New AdFocus panel for media

Posted by David Furlonger on 14 Sep, 2011 / News

Four names have been added to the panel judging the media agency category of the 2011 FM AdFocus Awards.

Jury chairman Neil van der Weele says the specialised nature of the media agency business demands specialist judging skills. So a separate panel will judge this category.

Van der Weele will head the panel, alongside AdFocus jury members Virginia Hollis, MD of The MediaShop Sandton; Michelle Meyjes, MD of the MEC group; Ken Varejes, CEO of Primedia Unlimited; and Justin Spratt, CEO of Quirk Digital.

They will be joined by Linda Gibson, CEO of Ads24; Afzel Mohammed, acting TV head at SABC airtime sales; Cindy Diamond, national sales manager of Radmark; and Elana de Swardt, of Yellow Ribbon Media.

The main AdFocus jury held its first judging session this week. There are 11 awards in 2011. They are:

Advertising agency of the year;
Media agency of the year;
Branding & design agency of the year;
Digital agency of the year;
Specialist agency of the year;
African advertising agency network;
Partnership of the year;
Lifetime achievement award;
Agency leader of the year;
Newsmaker of the year; and
New Broom award for young talent.

Winners will be announced at the AdFocus Awards evening in Johannesburg on November 23.

Leave a Reply